www.folkmusic.no

Nordic Folk Music:

23 Artists ready for Folkelarm 2010!

Ragnhild Furebotten_framside

The number of applications for this year`s Folkelarm outnumbered any previous Folkelarm Festival. 120 artists applied, and 23 are now chosen to play at one of Scandinavia`s most significant meeting arenas for Nordic Folk Music.

This year, Folkelarm celebrates its 5 years` anniversary, and the arena for the festival this year is Riksscenen, the brand new venue for Folk Music in Oslo with three concert arenas. September 9th – 12th Folkelarm will present a wide range of artists who all share a passion for music carved out by centuries of folk.

It is expected that approximately 200 delegates in Europe will attend the festival to meet colleagues, participate at seminars and last, but not least find new artists for their venues and festivals.

Young debutantes side by side with well established artists – traditional, soloist playing of old tunes or large ensembles influenced by a variety of musical genres – you will find the whole range of Nordic traditional music, folk music, world music or whatever you prefer to call it at Folkelarm. Passionate songs from the travelers, virtuoso accordionists from Finland, swinging West-African percussion, vehement Persian ornaments and of course the insisting sound of the crispy hardanger fiddle are just some of the flavors you may explore during a weekend of Folkelarm.

The artists are:

Eplemøya Songlag (N)                (http://www.myspace.com/eplemyasonglag)

Nordic (SE)                                    (http://www.myspace.com/nordicmusic)

Sver (N)                                          (http://www.myspace.com/sverfolk)

Ragnhild Furebotten (N)             (http://www.myspace.com/ragnhildfurebotten)

Majorstuen (N)                              (http://www.myspace.com/majorstuen)

Sväng (FIN)                                    (http://www.myspace.com/svangharmonica)

Transjoik (N)                                  (http://www.myspace.com/transjoik)

Maria Kalaniemi (FIN)                  (http://www.myspace.com/mariakalaniemi)

Outhouse Allstars (SE)                (http://www.myspace.com/outhouseallstars)

Javid Afsari Rad (N)                      (http://www.myspace.com/javidafsarirad)

Geitungen (N)                                (http://www.myspace.com/geitungen)

Johanna Juhola (FIN)                  (http://www.myspace.com/johannajuhola)

Unni Boksasp Ensemble (N)     (http://www.myspace.com/unniboksasp)

Hazelius / Hedin (SE)                   (http://www.myspace.com/hazeliushedin)

Djønno Folk (N)                             (http://www.myspace.com/rannveigdjonne)

Henning Gustavsen (N)               (http://www.emcd.no)

Emilia Lajunen (FIN)                    (http://www.myspace.com/emilialajunen)

Dei Beste Damene (N)                (http://www.myspace.com/greatestgirls)

Nina|Audun (N)                              (http://www.myspace.com/ninaaudun)

Eli Storbekken/Maros (N)             (http://www.storbekken.no/)

Diom De Kossa (N)                      (http://www.myspace.com/diomdekossa)

Gard Nergaard (N)                        (http://nergaard.org/wordpress/)

Danseforstillingen Møte (N)        (http://www.myspace.com/einarolavlarsen)

Attachment: Folkelarm Homepage

| | |